Re: Your developers need to make it easier to hide out of stock items! How to edit my liquid templat

Your developers need to make it easier to hide out of stock items! How to edit my liquid template?

hudlee
Tourist
6 0 1

Hi I'm an aging web developer. All I want is the option to hide out of stock items site/theme wide.

Having todo this on a per collection basis sucks because:

I have over 50 collections.

I can only use AND or OR for ALL RULES.

So I can do it per collection with AND conditions but this limits how catch all I can make my conditions and

requires more consistent carefullness from the person entering the item data.

Having to install some convoluted app todo this is insane. Can I write a custom app that creates and exposes a ruby filter my code can use while on the $29/month plan?

I thought I'd simply alter the liquid templates todo this and noticed that IS NOT POSSIBLE afaik!

Really learned how limited liquid is today... which removes a lot of utility from your platform!

Liquid your custom html template language (probably written in ruby?) doesn't really support basic programming features like removing an element from an array or collection or custom products object. Creating a new array with only some of the elements from the products collection also doesn't work because it's not an object paginate likes.

It's a decent compromise if this is a "unexposed" feature like making pagination part of the liquid language BUT THAN WHERE IS MY SIMPLE CHECKBOX IS SETTINGS to hide out of stock items with 1 click?

I refuse to pay $79/per month to use the script editor app which MIGHT allow me to write a custom filter function in ruby to use in my liquid templates. And I can't see how else I can do this without breaking pagination...