My speed dropped again when the store was open, but there are no sales yet. The speed did not drop by much, but it is less than that of similar stores. Therefore, I have a specific question: What applications can be removed after publication (Completion of work on the site)
Olivia here from the Shopify team.
Thanks for your post and sharing your question with our network. I took a peek over your applications, and it's definitely tough to make that judgement call by just looking at the list. It will really come down to what applications are actively helping you make sales, and which aren't.
This decision might be different for each business owner, and some things are more valuable to them and their business than others. For example, if you're using thinks like Pinterest buttons then definitely keep this application - if not, feel free to uninstall it.
Since your main concern is increasing your site speed, I wanted to share this awesome article with you on 15 tips to improve speed. Check out this awesome graphic from that article to help you get a better understanding of how time is valued:
Please feel free to share your website link with me here and I'd love to have a peek at it to provide any feedback or suggestions.
With great pleasure.(www.gltzant.com )
My store is open from 15/2 but hasn't sold anything. I don't understand why. Today I put it in view mode, but not shopping. I am looking for a specialist in Internet promotion.
Looked at the recommended article. It was not written for me. I am very far from programming. Moreover, I do not want to do this at all. I want to create fun gadgets and sell them. Instead of building a website and promoting it. These are forced actions, since I have no hope for Etsy.
Thanks for your reply, @GLEZANT.
I took a look at your website link, but it doesn't look like you have your custom domain connected. Or perhaps, you shared an incorrect link?
To address your other concerns, I can definitely appreciate that you're not accustomed to working on the marketing side of things with your business. Shopify is a DIY platform that doesn't only make marketing activities and integrations easier than ever, but we also provide documentation and tutorials for newer users.
With that being said, if you'd still prefer to hire outside assistance with marketing, you can certainly take a look at this curated list of Shopify Experts. There are experts that specialize in store speed and website optimization too if this is something you are interested in.
I also pulled up an additional article on improving site speed for you to review. This does not require any technical knowledge, and breaks down elements within your control very thoroughly.
I trust that helps, but let me know if you have further questions.
I had a look at your site https://glezant.com/ and I can see you have page fly scripts running, however are you actually using that app to build any of the pages? Apart from that it seems you are using most of the apps in your screenshot (at least the ones that would affect site speed).
However, another way to optimise you site speed would be through loading apps on pages they are used on only. For example you are using Shopify product reviews on the product page, but you are loading it on every page. We made a video tutorial on how to do this, if you want to check it out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BADxzcJ5XRU&t=836s alternatively hire a developer to do this for you.
Sorry, but I cannot use your link, This is too far from my area of expertise.
I am extremely disappointed with Shopify. I would never use Shopify if I knew that at every step I have to pay a lot of money for me. I don't get answered specific questions when I try to promote myself. For example: can I reapply the automatic optimization after some of the images have been replaced. Does anything threaten those images that have already been optimized?
I am not contacted by the developers of my free Minimalist theme to fix what I cannot due to a different specialization.
Thank you for your feedback, @GLEZANT.
I'm sorry to hear you haven't found this feedback helpful, and that you are still struggling with some aspects of your store. I would like to emphasize that our Support team is available 24/7 to help answer all your questions, and for anything we can't support then our forums are a great place to reach out.
Based on your latest comments, I'm not sure if I entirely understand what you mean in regards to automatic image optimization. Since there are many ways to do this, including apps, we would have to know a little more about what you are referring to specifically.
You also mentioned that you cannot get support with a fix for your customized free theme, is that correct? Our in-house theme devs are available to provide support within our capacity, which you can read more about in our design policy here.
I look forward to your reply,
1) I am really not given the opportunity to contact the developers of the theme, although it is recommended in your reference materials.
2) Regarding image optimization, I contacted AVADA many times and finally figured out how to do it. Although their instructions in the appendix were not clear to me.
3) Your audit led to the fact that I redesigned my site in accordance with how I understood your comments. That was not easy. Now it is important for me to know how you rate my alterations.
I ask you to look again at www.glezant.com and write to me if I can start advertising with those speed problems that I cannot fix without contacting the developers.
Thanks for your reply, @GLEZANT.
To address your comments in order, the best way to reach out to your theme's developers for Shopify-developed themes is to contact our 24/7 Support team directly. They will be able to determine if we can support your request, and if so, forward it on to our in-house Theme Developers.
For any app-specific questions, you must reach out to the App Developers for support directly as they will be able to provide the best guidance. Also make sure to provide your feedback to them directly so they can improve future resources and make for a better experience overall.
Lastly, I was happy to look over your site, and I certainly didn't run into any load time issues. Based on what is publicly accessible, I used Chrome Developer Tools to pull the following load information:
A typical unedited Shopify theme makes between 25-50 requests, and your site is currently making 43 which is well within this range. Your total load time also came in at 1.30 which is fairly impressive.
If there's anything that's particularly concerning you about your online store speed, let me know and I'd be happy to take a deeper look.
First of all, of course, I contacted the service 24/7, they closed negotiations with me. When the text of our negotiations was sent to me, I was trying to get an opportunity to contact the developer. My last wish was: to enable communication with the developer or communication with the administration of this service (to understand why I am being prevented from doing this). They stopped correspondence with me.
My speed is 53, which is lower for similar stores on Shopify. But the most unpleasant thing is that this speed drops for reasons I do not understand. Optimizing images does not give any results. Other optimizations also do not solve the problem, but just the opposite. When using the AVADA application, when I optimize the product page, they tell me that I have no pictures at all and are recommended to insert them on the sheet !!! This is despite the fact that the pictures are in the place that is reserved for them in this topic and there is even a video.
I would not be at all interested in speed if the site had a flow of customers comparable to the flow of similar products in Etsy!
I uninstalled several apps, no positive speed changes.
I would not like to invest the pensioner's meager funds in advertising until I am sure that the site is working stably.
Thank you for your detailed response, @GLEZANT.
I'd definitely like to address your concerns right away and share more insight on what you can expect when contacting our Support team for theme assistance. Our Support team plays an important role in triaging requests and identifying what we can and cannot support.
This triage environment allows us to help more merchants at once, and ensure that our Theme Developers allocate their time to making important site edits. Furthermore, our Support team is highly trained to answer online store speed related questions and provide further guidance when possible.
Our in-house Theme Developers do not assist with improving online store speeds as speed changes occur after merchants have customized their theme either through images, apps or custom code. For further assistance with improving your store speed, connect with Shopify Experts directly.
Several factors impact your online store speed, including:
The screenshots and speed insights I previously shared with you are for your home page. If you are experiencing site performance issues throughout other parts of your site, I highly recommend taking a deeper look at injected scripts throughout your entire theme code. Diffchecker, is a great online tool you can use to compare modified files against your original theme copy.
I sincerely hope you will find this information helpful and use it to your store's advantage. If you have any further questions related to my response, don't hesitate to reach back out.
I can’t dig into the code and remove scripts from there (I don’t even know what it is). Your experts gave me a whole list of things to fix. And everyone wants to sell you something of their own. There is no way to objectively check what you really need to fix. When I asked them how much it would cost me just to remove the scripts, they stopped responding. Any communication with specialists is not credible. It is very unpleasant that at first they tell us how simple everything is, and then it turns out that we have to pay. I believe that honesty is needed from the very beginning. In order not to create the illusion that anyone can take a free theme, customize it and sell it. Why, before using applications, we are not warned that later we will have to face the consequences of using them.
I still don't understand, can anyone help me with removing scripts for free? How much could it even cost?
And I haven't heard why my free theme is perceived by search engines as completely without images, although they are? Is it again my fault or the mistake of the developer, with whom I am not allowed to contact?
Thanks for following up, @GLEZANT.
I would like to emphasize that the information we have shared here is publicly accessible and it certainly is not our intention that you feel misled. Search engine optimization and site speed are key factors of any e-commerce business, and we work very hard to provide you with the tools and information you need without relying on a developer.
If you're not familiar with working with code or comfortable following our guides, I can recommend that you start with a fresh unedited theme that would not have the customizations you previously made.
While I am not familiar with any developers that offer this kind of assistance without an associated cost, I encourage Partners and community members to share any feedback they have with you here.
If you have any other questions for me, I'd be glad to assist.