My website speed continuously decreased

zack100
Tourist
18 0 2

Speed frequently decreased after the Shopify update and the more products I uploaded. 

 

I have installed the Shopify dawn theme v 7

and there are many extra scripts loaded on the product page E.g
https://monorail-edge.shopifysvc.com/v1/produce 
https://godog.shopifycloud.com/v1/event.gif 

https://pay.google.com/gp/
 https://shop.app/pay/session 
play.google.com

productreviews.shopify

godog.shopifycloud.co
monorail-edge.shopifysvc.com

and this makes my website load slower than 2.4s

Replies 7 (7)

SAN_MSWEB
Shopify Expert
889 110 116

Hi @zack100 


I hope you are doing good and welcome to the Shopify Community!
I am San from MS Web Designer.

For Improving Shopify Store Load Speed and Performance, you need to optimization your store.

Few Tips to Speed Up your Shopify store-
1. Use compressed images
2. Optimize use of Shopify apps
3. Implement AMP
4. Consider Professional Help
5. Use a single Hero Image
6. Minify Js/Css files




Regards,

San

If it’s helpful to you, please mark it as a solution.  


Need Help with Shopify Design, Migration, Speed, or Custom tasks?  
email: hi@mswebdesigner.com
Try Our Conversion Booster app to get more sales | Connect Our Founder Linkedin

flareAI
Shopify Partner
2405 223 535

Hello @zack100,


I am Gina from flareAI app helping Shopify merchants get $5Million+ in sales from Google Search, on autopilot.


There are several steps you can take to improve the speed of your Shopify website.


1. Optimize images
Large image files can significantly slow down your website's loading time. You can optimize your images by compressing them using image compression tools like TinyPNG 

2. Minimize HTTP requests
Each extra script and stylesheet you add to your website increases the number of HTTP requests, which can slow down your website. You can minimize HTTP requests by removing any unnecessary scripts and stylesheets from your website.

3. Remove any unused apps and scripts
Apps and scripts that you no longer use can slow down your website by adding extra code that your website doesn't need. Consider removing any unnecessary apps or consolidating their functionality to reduce the load on your website.

4. Use a faster Shopify theme
Consider switching to a faster Shopify theme to improve the speed of your website.

5. Use lazy loading
Lazy loading is a technique that only loads images and other content when the user scrolls down to them, rather than loading all content at once. This can significantly improve the initial load time of your website.

6. Monitor your website regularly
Regularly monitor your website's speed using tools like Google PageSpeed Insights or GTmetrix . This will help you identify any issues that may be slowing down your website and allow you to address them promptly.


By taking these steps, you should be able to significantly improve the speed of your Shopify website.


Gina

flareAI : Get Sales from Google Search, on Autopilot
$10+ billion in eCommerce on Google Search, every day. Find out how much you are missing
zack100
Tourist
18 0 2

I already try all these solutions but still not works . and it starts with the Shopify 2023  winter update

before the update my website loaded in less the 2s but now it takes more than 2.4s

zack100
Tourist
18 0 2

My Product page GTmatrix result

zack100_0-1679488235785.png

 

Shay
Shopify Staff
2818 440 576

Hi @zack100 

 

Thank you for sharing those details and for confirming what steps you have taken already to help reduce your website load time. Would you be able to share your store URL here so I can run some speed tests as well? I'm happy to provide any additional insight into this that I can. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

zack100
Tourist
18 0 2

Here is the link to the product page test on GTmatrix

 

https://gtmetrix.com/reports/brown-leatherjackets.com/sxy3qwpJ/

Shay
Shopify Staff
2818 440 576

Thank you for the link @zack100 

 

I did take a look and from what I can see your product pages are loading very quickly and efficiently. I recognize that you have noticed a slight slow down compared to how it was performing a few weeks ago.

 

Upon my review, the only thing I can see that is causing any delays is the loading time for the express checkout button (shop pay/google pay/paypal), which seems to load a few seconds after everything else. You might not see this on your end unless you are viewing the page in an incognito window or clearing your cookies after each page load. Subsequent page loads are noticeably faster with the express checkout button loading at the same time as the rest of the content, thanks to the browser cache for the page and the customer preferred checkout options. It's possible that the speed test site is not able to capture that difference from loading the page with cookies and without. This is also most likely the cause for the cumulative layout shift score of .17, as the page adjusts one last time when the express checkout button finishes loading. 

 

At the moment you do also have empty elements on the page. The expandable list for materials, dimensions, etc, is not currently in use. You also don't have any reviews for your products at this time, so the empty reviews section could be removed until that is the case. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog