Store Review - Beginner, traffic but no add to carts.

Store Review - Beginner, traffic but no add to carts.

ADD100
4 0 2

Hello Community, 

As the title says, I've only had about 3-5 months of experience with my website, so I'd say I'm a beginner and I hope you guys can give me some critique here and there.

Within the first month, I ran Google ads to my page and made a solid $1,000 in sales. So I thought that I could double down and really improve the website to boost conversions. So I made the layout more appealing (I've attached what the site used to look like as a .ppt file), and improved the About page, Policy pages, and more.

After improving this, I ran ads again, waited 1-2 weeks for results, got 650 sessions from FB and Google ads, and absolutely 0 "add to carts". Whereas when I had the old website, within the space of 2 weeks I got 1,295 sessions, 10 "add to carts", 8 "Reached checkout" and 4 conversions, just from Google ads. 

I'm starting to think there's something critically wrong with my website that either puts people off as soon as they land on it. The page speed is consistently +80

Thank you for your help 🙂

Replies 2 (2)

namitjindal
Excursionist
25 2 4

Hey ADD100,

Firstly, I understand your predicament. It is very important to get sales as a new Shopify owner but I want you to know that 650 sessions is a very small sample size. A lot of factors could be impacting your sessions.
I suggest building your traffic from other sources as well so that you can keep your cost of customer acquisition low.

We will be looking at optimizing your store in a customer-centric + data-driven way:

Customer-Centric: We will use the best CRO practices, human psychology, and a customer-centric approach to improve your website. Here are my suggestions:

Home Page - On average, most potential Customers make a decision within the first 7 seconds. After that, they find reasons to solidify their initial reasoning.