Api bad design

greg12
Shopify Partner
38 1 14

I started playing with subscription related apis provided by Shopify and i see critical bad design. SellingPlanGroup schema is unclear and badly documented that ends up with situation where different apps are store data in inconsistent way. 

Assume you are building the app that takes product, reads all connected sellingPlans and popups this product with list of all available subscriptions. Of course you want to have mechanism that is conssitent with all apps, so if app renders 'Subscribe and save' as a title, and 'Delivery every' as frequency selector, your popup should you the same. Where to look for those labels? Well who knows... api is designed that way it is not documented and forced, so different apps uses different way. 

Example : 

a) data of sellingPlanGroup created by recharge 

`"node": {
  "appId": null,
  "name": "Ananas",
  "options": [
    "15 Day(s),30 Day(s)"
   ],
   "sellingPlans": {
     "edges": [
       {
         "node": {
         "name": "Delivery every 15 Days",
           "15 Day(s)"
          ]
        }  
      },
      {
        "name": "Delivery every 30 Days",
          "30 Day(s)"
        ]
      }
    }
  ]
}`

name is inherited from product, options is an array that contains one ! comma separated string. Title rendered by app ("Subscribe and save") is not stored udner sellingPlanGroup document, probably comes from app itself. Hard to say. 

b) created by Ongoing Subscription app 

`{
    "appId": "repeat-kit-app-extension",
    "name": "Ongoing subscription name",

"Delivery every..."
    ],
    "sellingPlans": {
    "edges": [
      {
          "name": "Ongoing subscription name",
              "Option 1: Delivery Every 1 Month(s) - Paid Every 1 Month(s)\""
            ]
         }
       }
     ]
   }

}

}

`