301 redirect link specific question

MKIIGT40Viper
Tourist
3 0 1

When doing a 301 redirect link from an old product listing to a new product listing, is it ok to archive or delete the old product so it does not come up in search when people are searching for items on your site?  If you do this, will you lose your authority SEO ranking for the old product listing?

Thank you,

~Tyler

Reply 1 (1)

Victoria
Shopify Staff
2221 152 259

Hi, @MKIIGT40Viper.

 

Thanks for posting to the Shopify Community.

 

When you perform a 301 redirect from an old product listing to a new product listing, you are essentially telling search engines that the old URL has permanently moved to a new location. Once a 301 redirect is properly set up, you can safely archive or delete the old product listing from your website. This means it will no longer be accessible to users or appear in search results, as attempts to access the original URL will automatically be redirected to the new URL. The key is ensuring that the redirect is properly set up before the old page is removed.

Victoria | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog