Annoying N00b question - To serve parts info from my API do I need to build an app?

RussellWyatt
Visitor
2 0 0

Hi

I have responsibility for a repository of Motorcycle parts. We supply this parts information for integration in Motorcycle dealerships websites. I currently have a js library and a wordPress plugin which connects to our API and enables our catalogue to be interrogated from the webpage and parts added to the cart etc.

Now, we have had a request for integration into a Shopify site. What is the way we do this? I'm thinking I need to build an app, am I correct in this? I need to be able to wrap our API calls and render assembly images and parts lists through to the user. I'm completely new to Shopify so would be hugely grateful if someone could give me some guidance on the best manner to do this. 

Yes I'm a developer, I have experience with a number of languages and technologies. Just a few quick pointers should set me on my way.

Thanks in advance.

Russell Wyatt

Replies 3 (3)

jam_chan
Shopify Partner
891 23 171

Yes, you probably need to develop a private app to sync data from your site to the Shopify store. Use admin api (rest and graphql) to sync data to create new products and variants, etc.

If the inventory quantity is important, you need to handle syncing inventory too. Something like inventory level.

BYOB - Build Your Own Bundles, SPO - SEO App to research keywords & edit social link preview
RussellWyatt
Visitor
2 0 0

First of all thank you hugely for replying.

Secondly, as it turns out it looks like the developer who will be developing the site knows how to write apps, so the the plan is that I tell them how to interact with our api, so that is hopefully all good.