Solved

Can Customers Still Check Out When Shop Password is Enabled?

ohsnapzitana
Visitor
3 0 0

Hello Shopify world!

Coming on here to ask this question for a friend who also runs her small shop through Shopify:

 

Today she had a shop restock and decided she would enable the password on her shop when she felt she reached the order limit she set for self so no more orders would come through. To her surprise, after she enabled her password she still saw orders coming through for a good 5 minutes even though her site now showed the "Coming Soon" page immediately after enabling. Also important to note is that nobody has access to the password to enter her shop when the pass is enabled so there's no way customers would have been able to enter it in to still be able to shop.

 

So I guess the full question would be: does anyone know why customers would still be allowed to finish checking out for up to 5 minutes after her shop was technically closed?

 

Here are a few time stamps:

Shop Opened: 1:00pm EST

Shop password Enabled: 1:02pm EST

Last order came in at: 1:07pm EST 

 

Thank you! 🙂

Accepted Solution (1)

Maz
Shopify Staff
1168 129 181

This is an accepted solution.


Hello there @ohsnapzitana!

 

Thanks for reaching out here in the Community, happy to offer some insight to this.

This is a unique situation your friend is in, however not uncommon to sometimes happen. This may have occurred due to the customers receiving an abandoned recovery cart email links. What happens is, the link to complete their purchase ignores the online store and takes them directly to the checkout, bypassing the password page here. 

The next step here would be to head to the Admin > Orders > Abandoned Checkouts and have a look through their recent abandoned checkouts for the same customers and locate the recovered checkout. Selecting them should take your friend to the orders in question. To stop this from happening in future, I would suggest that your friend switches off automatic recovery emails, here are the steps below:

Go to Settings > Checkout, scroll down to the bottom of the page to Abandoned Checkouts. Uncheck, 'Send abandoned checkout emails automatically'. That will disable the default abandoned cart emails that Shopify sends. They can always switch it back on once the store is open for business again. With all the above being mentioned, if they cannot locate any abandoned checkouts, I would suggest that your friend reaches out to our live support here at this link. They can have a closer look at this! 

If my reply was helpful, please mark it as an accepted solution for the benefits of others who may come across this topic, thanks!




Maz | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

View solution in original post

Replies 4 (4)

Maz
Shopify Staff
1168 129 181

This is an accepted solution.


Hello there @ohsnapzitana!

 

Thanks for reaching out here in the Community, happy to offer some insight to this.

This is a unique situation your friend is in, however not uncommon to sometimes happen. This may have occurred due to the customers receiving an abandoned recovery cart email links. What happens is, the link to complete their purchase ignores the online store and takes them directly to the checkout, bypassing the password page here. 

The next step here would be to head to the Admin > Orders > Abandoned Checkouts and have a look through their recent abandoned checkouts for the same customers and locate the recovered checkout. Selecting them should take your friend to the orders in question. To stop this from happening in future, I would suggest that your friend switches off automatic recovery emails, here are the steps below:

Go to Settings > Checkout, scroll down to the bottom of the page to Abandoned Checkouts. Uncheck, 'Send abandoned checkout emails automatically'. That will disable the default abandoned cart emails that Shopify sends. They can always switch it back on once the store is open for business again. With all the above being mentioned, if they cannot locate any abandoned checkouts, I would suggest that your friend reaches out to our live support here at this link. They can have a closer look at this! 

If my reply was helpful, please mark it as an accepted solution for the benefits of others who may come across this topic, thanks!




Maz | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Sciaglo
Visitor
2 0 0

I had this happen today and my Shopify store has been password protected for 5+ months. This glitch needs to be resolved by Shopify. I hope all funds go back to the buyer. I trusted when the shop was password enabled, no purchases could be made. 

Sciaglo
Visitor
2 0 0

The sale that occurred in my shop while password protected has nothing to do with abandoned cart notifications. I would like to know how this happened. It’s been password protected for 5+ months.  

Maz
Shopify Staff
1168 129 181

Hey, @Sciaglo!

 

Thanks for subscribing to this thread.

 

If the above issue is not applicable to you, then I'd encourage you to reach out to live support here at this link, so that our technical team can help troubleshoot this.

 

While we’re not able to provide account-specific support via the forums at this time, we’d be happy to continue assisting you there!

 

 

Maz | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog