Create multiple cart notes and Make a cart customer note mandatory

CompassJW
Excursionist
17 0 4

Hello,

I have enabled cart notes, and I want to know if it is possible to a) add a second note section, and b) make the notes mandatory to be filled out by customers.

Thanks in advance!

0 Likes
Shay
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
409 73 80

Hi @CompassJW 

Thank you for sharing your question here in the community forums for help! While I am not a developer myself, I can help you get some of the resources you need to create this experience on your store. Yes, you can add a second field to your cart page and we actually have a tutorial to create something like that. You can find the steps for creating a second form field, and how to make sure the field is mandatory here:

Tutorial: Ask how customers heard about your store 

And this forum post, while a bit older, links to a code generator that should still work. It allows you to create various types of form fields from drop down, to long text, to radio buttons:

Tutorial: Cart - Use cart attributes to collect more information

I would go through those two links and reach out again if they don't work for you! If I can help with anything else, please let me know. 

-Shay 

Shay | Support Advisor @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

CompassJW
Excursionist
17 0 4

Hello @Shay 

The link to the Shopify UI elements generator for the cart isn’t letting me choose from the drop down menu  to select a “type of form field” or let me type where it says “your form field label”. I’ve tried to refresh the page but that doesn’t help. I used this tool a couple days ago to make an line item property but it won’t work now. Is it broken or not compatible with tablets? I might have made it on my desktop last time I used it?

Thanks again,

0 Likes
Shay
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff