Thank you for your message, sorry to hear you are having this image uploading issue.
Can I confirm that this error is appearing when you try to upload images in your Shopify admin under Products>Collections and does the error look like this?
If so, I do have an idea of what could be causing this:
This is generally an indication of poor file name management. Check the source file's name, some examples of bad source file names are:
don't use actual spaces use_for spaces.jpeg
You will want to look for things like:
If you see any of these, you will need to shorten it to something simple (image1.png is always a good fallback for example) and try again.
This error can also occur if you are trying to upload a GIF image to your collections, is this the case?
Feel free to reach back out here with any further clarification or if the above issue is still happening after the above steps have been taken. We are always happy to help our merchants out!
That does sound curious, we are sorry to hear you are having this issue. Have you have ensured your file meets all these requirements?
If you have, and you are still getting this issue I would recommend reaching out to our live support to take a closer look. While we’re not able to provide account-specific support via the Shopify Community at this time, we’d be happy to continue assisting you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit our Help Center and log in to your account to create a support request. Once you do this, our support team will be able to access your account to take a closer look into what may be causing this specific issue.
I am getting the exact same error message. There is only 1 specific collection that I am having issues with changing the picture and I have several collections. I tried what you suggested and no luck. Also tried using different computers and saving the image multiple different ways and I get the same error message every time.
I am sorry to hear you are having this issue as well, as mentioned in my previous response this is generally an indication of poor file name management. Have you also, checked the source file's name, some examples of bad source file names are:
Have you ensured that you have shortened your file name to something simple, like image1.jpg and tried again? You mentioned trying these suggestions and still having issues, I would also try uploading the photo on an incognito or private browser or clearing the browser history/cookies/cache on your primary browser before trying again. If after all these steps have been taken, you are still noticing this error, I recommend reaching out to our live support team to investigate further with you. We would be happy to continue assisting you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit our Help Center and log in to your account to create a support request.
I dont know if you guys ever found the fix for this but I just managed to solve mine by sizing my pic to the exact dimensions for Shopify Collections which is 4472px by 4472px - or if the image isnt perfectly square, make the longer side 4472px.
Dont know if this will work for anyone else but I tried diff formats, sizes, names etc and this is the one that did it for me.