Setting up a Pinterest Tag in the Addtocart code (Narrative Theme)

Max95
2 0 1

Hello Shopify Community!

I tried to setup the Pinterest Tag according to this Guide: https://help.pinterest.com/en/business/article/manually-add-shopify-tag I set up almost everything - however,  the last part "Step 3: Addtocard code" gives me a headache. I don't find any <button> or <input> element in “product.liquid”, or “product-template.liquid”, or “product-form.liquid” codes.

I have zero knowledge in coding, I just can copy and paste it somewhere. I am using the narrative theme with an active Ajax cart. I didn't find any help on YT or the Web since Pinterest changed up the code procedure a short time ago.

What I need to do is this:

"Under ‘Templates’ look for code files named “product.liquid”, or “product-template.liquid”, or “product-form.liquid” and open it. Note that this may vary depending on the theme you have installed, but it’s most common to see add to cart button code in the products.liquid file or equivalent."

then

"Place the following code within the ending caretof the <button> or <input> element:"

onclick="pintrk('track', 'addtocart');"

Please let me know where I should put this code, since I don't find the spot in the mentioned template codes.

Regards,

Max

Replies 6 (6)
Weddinginkshop
1 0 0

Hi Max95,

Did you by any chance receive an answer to this question? I am having the exact same issue.

Thank you!

Stacey

updatedones41
3 0 0

You need to find this line of code 

<button type="submit" name="add" id="AddToCart" class="btn product-single__cart-submit{% if section.settings.add_to_cart_width == 'full_width' %} btn--full{% endif %}{% if section.settings.enable_payment_button %} shopify-payment-btn btn--secondary{% endif %}" data-cart-url="{{ routes.cart_url }}"onclick="pintrk(etc..

and add it at the end before this>

This is correct and would love a double check .  Hope this steers us in the direction, in a direction.  Thanks.

@Max95 wrote: