Solved

Shopify App and App Theme Extension Integration

Douds_Man
Tourist
5 0 5

Hello Everyone,

I am new to development with Shopify. I have created an app using Node.js/React and have added an App Theme Extension to my app. I am wondering how I would go about updating my App Theme Extension based on changes within my App. For example, if an admin were using my app and entered some text into a textbox, would it be possible for this text to then update every block using my app to be updated with the input value? I have been trying to figure out how to allow my app to interact with the app theme extension, and have not been able to make this happen yet. Please let me know if this is possible/how to go about making this a reality.

Thanks!

Accepted Solution (1)

jagthedrummer
Shopify Partner
6 1 4

This is an accepted solution.

I think you'd want to have your app push that text value into a meta field on the shop or on a product, and then have your app extension liquid templates read from the meta field.

View solution in original post

Replies 5 (5)

jagthedrummer
Shopify Partner
6 1 4

This is an accepted solution.

I think you'd want to have your app push that text value into a meta field on the shop or on a product, and then have your app extension liquid templates read from the meta field.

den232
Shopify Partner
180 8 49

I have the exact opposite problem ...

I am developing an app theme extension and need it to be able to set a customer metadata. It cannot do that directly, as that requires admin API, so aI need a way to communicate from the extension to a webpage running on my infrastructure, which would contact the graphQL admin API to do the actual mutation to set the value of the metadata field.