FROM CACHE - en_header

Showing Total Order Weight on Cart Page

Mattdeevans
2 0 0

Hi guys

I am building a store on shopify and our shipping rates will be determined by the total weight of the order. I need to show the weight on the cart page so that customers know how much weight they have left before they reach the next shipping bracket. I am using the theme Brooklyn as this has a sliding cart as I don't want customers to leave the product page to check on their order weight. I am happy to change theme if there is a more suitable one that will allow the weight to be showed.

I am a complete novice when it comes to coding and have tried pasting a few lines of code in cart.liquid but with to no avail. If someone can tell me the line of code and exactly where to place it then I will have the final piece I need to launch.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!!

Replies 11 (11)
korokoro
Shopify Partner
23 2 7

Hi @Mattdeevans ,

Wow, I do like the way that sliding / drawer cart works (in Brooklyn), I have not checked it out before!

I do appreciate that people like to know exactly what's going on during the shopping experience and letting them know how the shipping price is shaping up is a great encouragement to build their cart.

I took a look inside the Brooklyn theme ("Edit Code" for geeks) and I managed to find how to adjust withing the javascript what appears inside the sliding cart - so there is hope for you! You just need to feel confident that you can apply a bit of javascript modification 🙂

I was 50% through the way to finding a solution and then Shopify my development store actually went down for which is *very suprising* !!!

Anyway, if you are still interested I will try again tomorrow?

PSD_Webdesigns
Shopify Partner
80 6 18

Hello @Mattdeevans 

You can use {{cart.total_weight}} object in "cart-template.liquid" to show the total weight. 

If you don't know about coding then please mail me at "support@psdwebdesigs.com" and i will fix that for you.