Can any theme be used for a dropshipping store?

DiamondAlways
Excursionist
14 0 2

I'm new to Shopify and wanting to build a dropshipping store. I see many themes are geared toward dropshipping. Do you have to use one of those or can any theme be used for it?

Replies 5 (5)

Lana
Shopify Staff (Retired)
849 77 108

Hello @DiamondAlways!

To answer your question, any and every theme can be customized to fit any kind of product.

In terms of what is available, you are able to choose between our free Shopify themes, other themes from our Shopify Theme Store  that were created by third party developers, and you can also opt for something outside our our own theme store.

The advantage to choosing one of our free themes is that not only will you be able to request some code changes/customization on your store using your design time, but we will also be able to help you resolve any issues that may occur on your theme. Please do note that certain customization may be out of the scope of our support team, but we are able to look into it regardless and give you all the next steps/recommendations. Additionally, we have documentation on each of our free themes in the help centre here to further help you design the perfect store for your products. 

If you opt for a third party theme, you will need to get in touch directly with the theme developers for issues or customization requests, and in cases where they are unable to help you out you can also refer to a Shopify Expert. Shopify Experts are people who work externally to Shopify and charge their rates based on the work that they do. They can help with any custom coding requests/issues on any of the themes.

Keeping all of the above in mind, is there anything in particular you have visualised for your store? For example, any features/layout that you would prefer? This would help you narrow down the options as there are many themes out there to explore!