Order notes showing on orders after customers deleted

Hi, I am having a bit of a problem with the order note feature on my online store. When customers write an order note using the cart slideout but change their mind and remove the order note before checking out, the deleted order notes still show up on the order which is causing quite a mess. I don’t know why this is happening, so I would really love any assistance I can get. Thank you. I am using the Focal Theme.