Hi there, @aemitte .
I can definitely understand where you are coming from - My student days were a struggle too! Once this charge has been applied, there is no way to reverse to. So the best way forward here would be to pay the invoice, close your store and then get the amount refunded back to you.
In order for payments to stop completely, you must elect to close your store. You will receive no further bills from Shopify after closing your store provided there are no outstanding charges. The process for closing the store can only be done by the store owner, for a store with no outstanding invoices. The steps are as follows:
- From your Shopify admin, click Settings, and then click Plan and permissions or Account.
- In the Store status section, click Sell or close store.
- Click Close store.
- Enter your password to continue.
- Select a reason from the drop-down menu and then click Close store.
- To confirm that your store is closed, you can go to your store’s URL and see that your store no longer appears.
If you choose to re-open your store within 30 days of closing it, then Shopify guarantees that all of your store’s data and configuration information will be preserved. Shopify can’t guarantee that any data will be preserved more than 30 days after closing your store. If you have any third-party apps that have your payment information outside of Shopify, then cancel your service with those apps to avoid being billed externally after you close your store.
Once you have completed this, you can request a refund from our live support team. Our live support via phone, chat or email can be reached via our support portal here. Simply type your query into the “ask about a topic” bar, then hit continue to support to access. Here’s a video showing the steps in action.
I hope this helps, best of luck with your studies!