Hello Sir/Mdm,
May I know what are the differences of ‘Delete Customer’ vs ‘Erased Personal Data’? Which function to use if I want to completely erase customer all personal data from store, Shopify Database?
Thank you.
Hello Sir/Mdm,
May I know what are the differences of ‘Delete Customer’ vs ‘Erased Personal Data’? Which function to use if I want to completely erase customer all personal data from store, Shopify Database?
Thank you.
Hi @KvChow ,
Deletion and erasure may sound the same, but these are two terms not to be confused. 'Delete Customer" leaves data recoverable, while ‘Erased Personal Data’ is permanent.
In case you want to completely erase a customer all personal data from the store and Shopify Database, you need to ask Shopify to remove this customer’s personal information from your store by sending an erasure request (click ‘Erased Personal Data’).
You can learn more about the process of erasure requests here.
I hope this answer helps.
Hi - has someone found an article on ther Shopify Help Center that explains how the “Erase personal data” process works. I found this article, but i would like to see the official doc from Shopify.
https://business.saymine.com/articles/delete-user-data-from-shopify-gdpr-ccpa
If someone has a link to it and can share that would be great. I did not find it using the search in the help center. It’s important to understand when communicating with customers about this.
Thanks!