Can I get a refund for an unintentional annual subscription charge?

Solved

Can I get a refund for an unintentional annual subscription charge?

Jaybae
Visitor
1 0 1

Hi everyone,


I noticed that Shopify charged for the annual subscription a couple days ago.

 

It slipped my mind to cancel trial store with a selected plan and didn't close the store a couple days ago as I’ve been super busy with my new baby, so my mind is on other things.

 

I don’t want to continue on using the store, I forgot even had the store lol


I’m kind of hoping someone from the Shopify social care team escalate it for me to their billing team to ask if they are able to refund it for me.  (Read a similar post, to my situation)

 

What are the odds of Shopify making this happen these days? 

 

Accepted Solution (1)

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 90 149

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @Jaybae 

 

Welcome to the Shopify Community!

 

Congratulations on the birth of your new baby - what an exciting time for you. 

 

I am sorry to hear that you want to cancel your plan and close the store, however I understand that it might not be the right time for you and your business, as you have other priorities at the moment! Was there anything about Shopify that you were having trouble with or finding difficult? We're always looking for ways to improve the platform so feedback from merchants like yourself is always appreciated.

 

While it is true that as per our terms of service we do not offer refunds, I would recommend reaching out to our support team via our help center as soon as possible. Here on the Shopify Community, we can't actually escalate anything for you or access any of your account information, so using my link above will be necessary for authentication purposes.

 

I can't guarantee that any refunds would be possible, however we understand that these things happen, so we will try to accommodate you as best as we can. The support advisor can take a closer look and explain things further. 

 

I trust that this will help to clarify the situation and explain the next steps for you, but please let me know if there's anything else I can help with! Best of luck with everything!

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog



View solution in original post

Reply 1 (1)

Rick
Shopify Staff
946 90 149

This is an accepted solution.

Hi @Jaybae 

 

Welcome to the Shopify Community!

 

Congratulations on the birth of your new baby - what an exciting time for you. 

 

I am sorry to hear that you want to cancel your plan and close the store, however I understand that it might not be the right time for you and your business, as you have other priorities at the moment! Was there anything about Shopify that you were having trouble with or finding difficult? We're always looking for ways to improve the platform so feedback from merchants like yourself is always appreciated.

 

While it is true that as per our terms of service we do not offer refunds, I would recommend reaching out to our support team via our help center as soon as possible. Here on the Shopify Community, we can't actually escalate anything for you or access any of your account information, so using my link above will be necessary for authentication purposes.

 

I can't guarantee that any refunds would be possible, however we understand that these things happen, so we will try to accommodate you as best as we can. The support advisor can take a closer look and explain things further. 

 

I trust that this will help to clarify the situation and explain the next steps for you, but please let me know if there's anything else I can help with! Best of luck with everything!

 

Rick | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog