Can I set my Shopify store as non-VAT registered in the UK?

Julia_Armstrong
Visitor
1 0 0

Hello all, Im very new to online selling but have many years in bricks and mortar selling. As a new company we have chosen not to register for VAT - not expecting to reach the VAT threshold for a long time!

How do I set my shopify store to not VAT registered? and therefore no VAT due on sales? 

I can set my retail prices ok - but the invoice shows VAT charged - which it is not. so I cannot send out invoices that are inaccurate. we would have a legal problem as well as misleading customers. 

there must be other non vat regsitered traders out there - how have you solved this? 

the online chat person suggested i create a seprate collection for EU sales. not the point at all. 

Many thanks

Julia

Replies 23 (23)

Nick
Shopify Staff (Retired)
4531 434 1024

Hi Julia, 

Nick here from Shopify! 

Great question and that completely makes sense regarding the threshold. Shopify has a very helpful guide on non-USA taxes which goes through everything you would need to know about setting up taxes for your store. I also want to share another helpful guide with you for tax overrides and exemptions which goes into detail for VAT exemptions in the UK. You can see the guide by clicking here. There is one other potential workaround on this. It is a little more technical but it is definitely worth a look to see if it is what you are looking for and if it can work for you. It is an advanced tutorial and is not supported by Shopify, but if you think this could be your solution, you could reach out to a Shopify expert directly to help you with it as a small task. 

I hope this helps and does clear this up for you a little with the aid of the guides. Please don't hesitate to ask should you have any other questions about this or anything else. 

All the best, 

Nick

To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Community Blog.

KTW_Photography
Visitor
2 0 6