SEO WITH IMAGES

PrettyPrint
11 0 0

Hello. 

A newbie here. In the product section, when you move the mouse over the images, there is the EDIT ALT TEXT option. Do I have to write a simple sentence or write words with draws and commas?

Also, the images that I add have all keywords separated by draws, should I write the same words in the EDIT ALT TEXT section or another description?

Also, if you write the ALT text in this section, does that mean we do not need to write in the HTML code? I hope so, because I do not know how to do it.

Thank you very much

0 Likes
Lisa
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
242 3 63

Hi, Gigi!

Lisa here form the Shopify Support Team. 

To help you understand what Edit Alt Text is, in order to write your image descriptions it is the alternative text used by text browsers and other web user agents that can't view images. It should describe the image and what is in it. However, it is extremely valuable for Search Engine Optimization! For example, if someone Google image searches 'Black pants gold zipper with pockets' if your image is described this way, your image has a much higher chance of showing up first in the Google Search!

Depending on your SEO tactic, you can use keywords separated by commas, or basic descriptions (my personal preference, as the original function for Alt text, is for someone who is visually impaired. Here's a great article on how to optimize your writing for Alt txt images. Each image you write the text on will show up better, so if you have a side view and front view of the same item - include this in the description. 

Yes! With Shopify sites, the good new is you do not need to touch the HTML code for SEO! Here's more information on adding keywords to your Shopify store to improve SEO. You will just need to add keywords on products, collection, and in your preferences page! Then Shopify sites are optimized to be crawled by Google to ensure these areas are regularly updated!