Why am I getting double billed on my website plan?

sartrowski
4 0 0

Hello!

I have been working with your company for around four years, successfully building two websites for my own apparel brand, along with developing two more online stores in apparel for close acquaintances, and I am happy to recommend Shopify to anyone considering entering a business.

I am, however, stunted by a little apparent glitch that I can't seem to wrap my head around. I failed to deposit cash to my debit card during the past few days, mostly because of the immense string of national holidays in Romania, where I am based, so, naturally, my website was frozen for failing to pay the bill. I very frequently fail to check that my debit is updated before or around the 6th of the month when I am billed, so I am no stranger to the practice, nor does it bother me in any way. What is fair is fair.

I updated my debit this morning, I logged onto my mobile Shopify App and meant to proceed with the payment, but the grand total was set at around $73, wherein I knew I was only supposed to be billed $43. Indeed, I tried to tap the proper buttons and only pay the outstanding bill of $43, but I kept getting stuck in a loop where Paypal was my primary payment method and I had no way to switch to my card, except paying for the grand total. I kept trying to exit the loop with no success, so I turned to my desktop.

Upon entering, I get a screen telling me the store is frozen and I need to select a plan. Whichever I choose of the first two I have to pay an extra $29. Why is that? It is both frustrating and unnecessary. I had not renounced my plan, I had not been notified that I would have to pay what it seems like a month in advance.

Furthermore, when I saw this screen it became clear to me that the payment had gone through, even though I had in no way been notified of it. I checked my balance and, ta-da!, the cash had been collected.