Why are my customers unable to process payments?

Why are my customers unable to process payments?

nina2009
Visitor
3 0 0

Hi, my customers are not able to process orders as they are receiving this message:

 

User authentication failed due to invalid authentication values

 

I've tried putting a test order through myself and it also failed with several different credit cards. This is an established site which has received multiple orders in the past. No settings have been changed and no apps have recently been added. Can you please help with this issue?

 

Thank you.

Replies 7 (7)

Sophia
Shopify Staff
1721 110 223

Hello, @nina2009.

 

Thank you for posting the error message here, and clarifying that no changes have been made, nor any apps added recently. I appreciate that you've tested the checkout process as well.

 

Can you tell me which payment provider you're using? If you have Shopify Payments enabled, our support team can definitely take a closer look into what's going on and help you resolve the issue. You can get in touch with our team 24/7 through the Shopify Help Center.

 

If instead you have a third-party payment provider enabled, our team can still take a look, but the information we have access to might be limited. In that case, you may need to contact the payment provider's support team for next steps.

 

It may be helpful to review the payment events under Orders > Abandoned checkouts in the admin, as the details here could provide you with a more specific error message or details on what the error means. I also recommend checking the home page of the admin for any red or yellow banners that provide information on any potential issues with your payment provider.

 

I know how important it is to get this resolved as quickly as possible. If you don't see the information you need within the admin, please contact our team so we can investigate and work on a resolution with you.

Sophia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

nina2009
Visitor
3 0 0

Hi, the issue was with the third-party payment processor, as the API transaction key stopped working suddenly. One of your colleagues in the online chat was able to walk me through resetting this. Thank you.

N.

Sophia
Shopify Staff
1721 110 223

I'm so glad to hear that our team was able to help you reset the API transaction key. Thanks for updating me!

Sophia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

popupcloset
Visitor
1 0 0

Hi, encountered the same problem, can you help me?

 

nina2009
Visitor
3 0 0
Hi, we just needed to contact our payment processor which in our case was
Authorize.net and they were able to address the problem.
Sophia
Shopify Staff
1721 110 223

Thanks for sharing this, @nina2009! I'm glad to hear that your payment processor was able to help you resolve the issue.

Sophia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Sophia
Shopify Staff
1721 110 223

Hi, @popupcloset!

 

Whether we can help depends on the payment provider you're using. If you are using Shopify Payments, our support team can investigate. Please contact our team through the Shopify Help Center, as looking into this requires authenticating you as the store owner. 

Sophia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog