Why is my 'add to cart' button not working on my product page?

1 0 0

Hello, I just recently noticed an issue with the "add to cart" button on my product page. That explains why I haven't had any sales in a month or two. When I press the "add to cart" button, the little wheel just keeps spinning and nothing is happening. No product is being added to the cart. Only works when you "buy now" but that's only if you're wanting to purchase one item. I never really messed with the codes so I am not sure why it is doing that. My website is fully finished and took hours to make, I really don't want to restart... 

Replies 3 (3)

Shopify Staff
1173 129 182


Hey @Bogdan333.


Thanks for reaching out here in the Community, and I am happy to help you solve this issue.


Sorry to hear that you are running into this issue with your add to cart button.  As you mentioned you have not made any edits to your theme's code, there are a couple of things I would like to confirm next:


  • Can you confirm if you have installed/uninstalled any apps in the past month or two that may have affected it?
  • Kindly share your store URL for testing purposes.
  • Any additional context you can provide to help me diagnose the problem further?
  • Are you able to add items to your cart on a preview of a different theme?
  • Have customers reported this issue directly to you, if so how many?

There are some local troubleshooting steps below that we can try as well, just in case the issue is related to your device/browser:


  • Clear your cache and cookies on your browser. After this, completely reboot the browser.
  • Try a different web browser, as well as incognito or private windows to rule out any browser issues.
  • When using incognito, if you're still experiencing a delay, confirm you have disabled browser extensions, as these can change how pages function and look.
  • Ensure your web browser is up-to-date on the latest version (we don't support every browser, but we do support these here).
  • Try another device like a computer or mobile phone.
  • Try on the Shopify Mobile App; this is typically the best step to try, as it will rule out any browser issues.
  • Ensure you do not have any firewalls or pop up blockers enabled on your device, as these can interfere.
  • Try a different Wi-Fi or cellular connection.

Hoping to hear back from you soon!

Maz | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

Shopify Partner
894 23 174

Hi @Bogdan333 


If you ever install an upsell/review app or other apps changing the product pages, the app may monitor your add to cart button and change the default behavior. 


A simple way is to open your Chrome inspector. Click the add to cart button. See there is an extra error. It will give you a hint why it's not working

BYOB - Build Your Own Bundles, SPO - SEO App to research keywords & edit social link preview
1 0 0

hi @jam_chan 

I tried looking at inspector and I do see an error, but i don’t understand what it is for. Could you help me with that?