Feedback Wanted: Do you have apps that need to know what's changed on an order?

Jordan
Shopify Staff
300 3 82

Hi everyone!

I'm a product manager on the orders team here at Shopify and I want to better understand if there's a need among Shopify app developers for fetching what's changed on an order. 

When we released order editing back in late 2019, we introduced a new pattern where many attributes on an order could be updated — we even wrote a blog post about it! The new recommended practice was that for any function of your app that could be affected by an order attribute, you treat the attribute as potentially subject to updates.

With that in mind, do you have apps that need to keep informed of updates? How do you do that today (e.g subscribing to order/updated or order/edited webhooks)? 

More importantly, I'd love to hear if you have a use case for retrieving a history of what attributes have changed on any given order and why — feel free to comment in this thread below or message me directly. 

All the best, 

Jordan 

Jordan | Developer Support @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit Shopify.dev or the Shopify Web Design and Development Blog

Replies 9 (9)

ClementBR
Shopify Partner
153 2 44

Hi @Jordan , 

I'll pitch in with our use case, related to reporting and accounting.

When it comes to accounting/reporting, a rule of thumb is that past data should not ever change.

For example, if March is over and I generate a report for March as of today, and I generate the same March report as of tomorrow or next week, I expect the same results.

Unfortunately, this is not the case with the way the current order editing functionality works. Let me explain.

I tried editing an order by either increasing and decreasing the quantity on one of the order line item. Here is what I'm seeing: