OAuth 2.0

tarek-rahme
Excursionist
54 0 1

Hello

I am new to the Shopify app ecosystem and I am a bit confused about OAuth 2.0.

So I created my rails app using Shopify CLI tool.

I can add it to my development store and the app gets added and if write code it works, I see the changes in the embedded app.

However, I haven’t done anything for OAuth. Shopify documentation says that the developer should implement OAuth 2.0.

So do I have to actually write the code for OAuth or is the shopify_app gem taking care of it? If I have to write the code, then how come I was able to add it to my development store? If I don’t have to write the code for it, then why does the Shopify tutorial says I should?

Also in my database I see that a shop got created in my shops table (The shop being my own development store, but I haven’t written the code for this creation to happen).

Thanks so much in advance to anyone who will help 🙏🏼🙏🏼

Replies 5 (5)

BStubbs
Shopify Partner
136 16 62

Hi Tarek,

I'm not a Rails dev, but it sounds like the Shopify CLI has down some of the work for you. What is in your source code at the moment? Do you understand everything there? I would suggest reading the docs about the Shopify CLI tool to better understand what it is actually doing for you. Using tools is great, but make sure you know what they are doing and why, it helps with debugging down the track!

Good luck with your restaurant app!

Was this helpful? Press like!
Did it fix the problem? Mark it as the solution for others!
Buy me a beer? Well, sure!
Gregarican
Shopify Partner
1033 86 285