Orders Create Webhook not firing (or is it?)

Graeme_Knight
Tourist
9 0 4

Hi folks,

I'm new to the technology stack recommended by Shopify. However following several examples I registered a webhook with read_orders and write_orders scope available after authentication:

// register webhook
const registration = await registerWebhook({
address: `${HOST}/webhooks/orders/create`,
topic: "ORDERS_CREATE",
accessToken,
shop,
apiVersion: '2020-01'
});

The registration comes back with success.

I have then done the following to make sure I catch the firing webhook:

const webhook = receiveWebhook({ secret: SHOPIFY_API_SECRET_KEY });

router.post('/webhooks/orders/create', webhook, (ctx) => {
console.log('received webhook: ', ctx.state.webhook);
});

Koa router is then set up thusly:

router.get('*', verifyRequest(), async (ctx) => {
ctx.respond = false;
ctx.res.statusCode = 200;
});
server.use(router.allowedMethods());
server.use(router.routes());

I'm using paid ngrok so the host URL is stable. I have the app reinstalled in my test store. And I created a test webhook call in notifications. I also set up the koa router log to show incoming traffic.

When I test the webhook through notifications I do not see any traffic coming into the app and no webhook is caught.

Seems to me that either the webhook is not firing or the above code is wrong or I have missed a step. Aside from the fact I'm not using next.js I believe I'm doing everything the example app suggests (I may have missed something).

I hoped someone may have had the same problem or had some hints to help. Next I'll fire some data via postman to see if it's received.

Best regards, G.

Replies 12 (12)

Visely-Team
Shopify Partner
1843 210 488

How do you test the webhook? Are you creating an order through Shopify Admin?

Sergiu Svinarciuc | CTO @ visely.io
- Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know!
- Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution!