Price Rule API authentication issue for POST

vtdev
4 0 0

Hi,

I've been using the Price Rule API for a few months until now, it just doesn't work anymore!!!  No resources online, no support available. I'm wondering if it's happening to anyone else. I appreciate any help.

https://help.shopify.com/en/api/reference/discounts/pricerule#create

I'm using BASIC authentication my passing username and password in the header, my app has "write_price_rules".

The GET method works fine!

POST https://myapp.myshopify.com/admin/api/2019-04/price_rules.json

Here's my payload:

{
"price_rule": {
"title": "NEWPRICERULE",
"target_type": "line_item",
"target_selection": "all",
"allocation_method": "across",
"value_type": "percentage",
"value": "-10.0",
"customer_selection": "all",
"allocation_limit": null,
"once_per_customer": true,
"usage_limit": 1,
"starts_at": "2019-05-01T00:00:00-04:00",
"ends_at": "2019-07-31T00:00:00-04:00"
  }
}

0 Likes
dlenselink
2 0 2

vtdev,

I am experiencing what I can only assume is a very similar issue here. When I send a request to the/admin/api/2019-04/price_rules.json endpoint, it returns a 200 OK status, but the returned body doesn't make sense. I can also confirm that after receiving the 200 OK status, when I get the list of all price rules ton confirm the new addition, the new price rule is not among the complete price rule list, so clearly it is not actually getting added.

Here is my request body and response:

Screen Shot 2019-06-04 at 1.36.25 PM.png

If my issue is different, feel free to disregard my post. The GET method works fine for me as well.

It would be really nice if this obvious change to the API was documented in a place where users have a chance of seeing it (if it is documented at all), considering that there are likely many applications and stores across Shopify's platform which rely on this endpoint. You would think that Shopify would alert users in some way when a change like this goes live.

vtdev
4 0 0
Hi dlenselink,