How can I enable social media icons in the Dawn theme for product sharing?

leanneinnovate
Visitor
3 0 3

Hi everyone,

I'm a VBA developer, so have been trying to figure my way around liquid.  I am using the Dawn Theme, and when I enable sharing on my page it just gives me a generic up arrow and the word "Share".  And then the form that comes up is weird - no customers are going to use that!

How do I get the actual social media icons so when someone wants to share a product to Facebook they see the facebook icon, click it, and it sends the info to their facebook page?  There is no option in this theme to enable social sharing - all I can do is put my facebook URL in.

Can anyone help?  This is frustrating.  And I don't want to change my theme cos I've done a fair amount of customisation already!

Thanks,

Leanne

Replies 8 (8)

LitExtension
Shopify Partner
4860 1001 1135

Hi @leanneinnovate,

Please go to main-product.liquid file, find 'share-button' and change code:

<ul class="social-sharing">
    <li>
      <a target="_blank" href="//www.facebook.com/sharer.php?u={{ shop.url | append: product.url }}" class="btn--share share-facebook">
        {%- render 'icon-facebook' -%}
        <span class="share-title" aria-hidden="true">facebook</span>
        <span class="visually-hidden">facebook</span>
      </a>
    </li>
    <li>
      <a target="_blank" href="//twitter.com/share?text={{ product.title | url_param_escape }}&amp;url={{ shop.url | append: product.url }}" class="btn--share share-twitter">
        {%- render 'icon-twitter' -%}
        <span class="share-title" aria-hidden="true">twitter</span>
        <span class="visually-hidden">twitter</span>
      </a>
    </li>
    <li>
      <a target="_blank" href="//pinterest.com/pin/create/button/?url={{ shop.url | append: product.url }}&amp;media={{ product | img_url: '1024x1024' }}&amp;description={{ product.title | url_param_escape }}" class="btn--share share-pinterest">