Solved

Why am I getting an error when uploading a .glb file?

LeaARdrobe
Visitor
1 0 3

Hi, 

I am having problems loading a new version of a .glb file. 

The previous files were working properly, but I get the error here below

"Media upload failed

Some of your media failed to upload, please retry again.
  • 3D model: Failed to convert model to USDZ format"

There is no retry again as the same problem has been following me for the past 5 days, so I am giving up and reaching out. Anyone has solved it successfully?

Thank you!

Accepted Solution (1)
JonW
Shopify Staff (Retired)
7 2 0

This is an accepted solution.

Hi everyone,

I'm a product manager on 3D here at Shopify. peng_yu is correct, 99% of the time this process fails it is because the .glb files are using a compression called Draco on their geometry.

The issue is that the usdz file format, the file iPhones and iPads use for AR, does not support this compression and we want to ensure all your customers get to experience your models in AR.

We do have a solution to this problem on our roadmap, and in the future will accept files with draco compression and still be able to produce files for iOS users, but I cannot provide a concrete timeline at the moment. In the interim, the solution is to save your .glb without the draco compression and re-upload it. 

To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Community Blog.

View solution in original post

Replies 9 (9)

snouty
Visitor
1 0 2

Yes, I'm having the same issue! Did you find anything useful somewhere else? Thanks.

christurner48
Visitor
1 0 1

I am having the same issue (see below), Shopify support keep telling me it my theme but I have other GLB files loaded into the store without any issues. I think the GLB to USDZ converter on the Shopify server is broken. Had anyone else made progress with this?

Some of your media failed to upload, please retry again.
3D model: Failed to convert model to USDZ format

NewBee
Tourist
6 0 0