Facing issues with search bar typing?

backsidefabrics
Tourist
5 0 17

Is anyone have an issues with your typing in the search bar?  When I start typing what I am searching for, the cursor starts jumping around and sometimes erases some of my letters that I typed and I end up with jibberish...just wondering if anyone else is having this issue and if there is a fix for this?  Thanks!

Replies 5 (5)

Erin
Shopify Staff
942 127 146

Hi, @backsidefabrics. I'm happy to help you out! I just have a few questions to make sure I give you helpful advice for your situation.

  • When did you first start noticing this?
  • Have you tried to test your search bar using any other browsers or devices?
  • Are you noticing any other issues with your Shopify admin or storefront?

I haven't seen any reports of this happening to merchants at the moment. I also tested my search bar to double check and I didn't see the problems you described. It may be something related to the browser, device, or network you're using that is causing this. If you're still having trouble with your search bar, I'd recommend trying the following troubleshooting steps to start:

If it's still not working after this, please let me know! I'd also recommend speaking with our live support team here. We won't be able to see any of your account information here, over the Shopify Community, but if you reach out to us there we would be able to review this with you in more detail.

Erin | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

mollies
Tourist
8 0 0

This is also happening to me since yesterday. 

Erin
Shopify Staff
942 127 146

Hi, @mollies. Thanks for reaching out!

 

If you are experiencing the same issue I'd recommend following the troubleshooting steps I shared. If you're still having trouble after going through those steps it's best to speak with our support team through the Help Center so that we can take a look at it with you. I haven't seen any recent reports of this being a current issue so we would need to troubleshoot this to find out what's causing what you're seeing.

 

Happy to help if you have any questions!

Erin | Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

violetsshop
Tourist
6 0 7

Hi @Erin i think this is happening to a ton of people. There’s a form here and also a reddit form. Most people are probably just waiting for an update like we did for 6 months without any resolution. https://community.shopify.com/c/technical-q-a/product-search-bar-lagging-and-deleting-as-we-type/m-p...

We’ve tried different browsers, different devices (iPad and cell phones are both doing this in the POS app). Looks like the solutions/replies others have gotten aren’t fixing anything either. 

Has there been any other progress with fixing this bug? It’s super frustrating to deal with at the checkout. 

Shay
Shopify Staff
2830 442 576

Hi @violetsshop 

 

Thank you for that link. Have you connected with our authenticated chat support to report this issue? If not, I highly recommend doing so. As I noted in that thread, without reports being made to our authenticated support team we are unable to effectively track and troubleshoot these issues. Please feel free to connect with them through our Help Center. You can open the AI chat window and type "contact support" to get started. If you are able to include any screenshots or video recordings of these issues for us, that would be incredibly helpful. 

Shay | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog