Why am I experiencing bugs and limitations with Shopify?

zomex
Explorer
64 1 19

Hello,

Recently started using Shopify after seeing the massive success of the solution and the brands such as Gymshark who are using it.

I am a web developer of 14 years and have used every open source ecommerce software you can think of (Magento, Prestashop, Woocommerce etc etc).

Using Shopify I had high expectations based on the hype but the more I use it the more disapointed I am.

Bugs

The major issue I am having is bugs. For example the product below, i have a image set for each variant yet the image is not working in the front-end. I am using the Dawn theme with no customizations made to the main product image.

Screenshot 2024-02-12 at 11.41.34.pngScreenshot 2024-02-12 at 11.41.48.png

See a demo below: https://decorative-gold.myshopify.com/products/gold-cryptocurrency-collector-coin

Pass: bayldo

Click on Etherium and the variant image does not display.

---

A bug where a unsaved changes error always shows on products even after saving. I have seen this reported in the forum years ago. No reply from Shopify.

How can I realistically put time into working with Shopify if you guys don't fix bugs?

Very limited

Another big issue is the limitations. I understand it's a hosted solution that is aimed at the mainstream but there are so many limitations.

For example the shopify URLs. Pages using /pages, blogs using /blogs.

No option to change this. No control over URL prefixes.

Code

The quality of code within the default Shopify themes is poor especially when it comes to CSS. Lots of bloat and no real structure.

Web Developer - zomex.co.uk
Replies 5 (5)

tim
Shopify Expert
3318 248 1196

No, ethereum image is not assigned to any variants:

Screenshot 2024-02-13 at 12.15.13 am.png

If my post is helpful, consider liking it -- it will help others with similar problem to find a solution.
zomex
Explorer
64 1 19

Yes exactly, in the front-end.