Theme Development > Best Performance Practices

Ceri-Waters
Shopify Partner
97 5 29

Hiya,

So I'm a Web Developer and I'm curious if anyones managed to get Mobile PageSpeed scores above 30s on a Bespoke/Off the Shelf Theme without going headless?

We currently use the following practices: Minimising and Defering CSS/JS, Lazy Loading Images, for Collections Dynamically Loading in Products, Serving Images at the correct size per screen resolution (Picture Elements/Img SRCSets).

Every store of course has it's front-end plugins, e.g. Searchanise, Trustpilot Reviews, Analytics/Tracking, Cookies Manager.

After all of this, the stores always come back with scores in their 30s, whereas similar setups on other platforms (e.g. WordPress with WooCommerce) seem to be able to achieve higher scores with less work. (Granted with various caching plugins/Cloudflare at the front and good hosting).

Have you managed to get consistent high scores with PageSpeed? If so what did you do different? What practices do you use? Do you have any examples?

Thanks in Advance,

Ceri.

Replies 11 (11)

oreoorbitz
Shopify Partner
242 29 129

Really in the end how high I can get a clients score depends on what plugins they are willing to remove, and if I convince them to not use a hero carousel.

You can do all the other stuff, but largest contentful paint and total blocking time are the heaviest metrics and the ones that are often the slowest. There's no secret technique. It's like carrying apples, you can carry them in a better way, but the apples will still way the same. 

Available for freelance. I specialize in speed improvement and theme development.
https://www.upwork.com/fl/orionholmes

You can also contact me directly if you prefer.

Preben_Frenning
Shopify Partner
39 0 13

Like you've both have mentioned, apps can dramatically ruin the speed of even the most optimized of themes.