Solved

How to re order filter tag dropdown on Collection pages - Debut Theme

umair91
Tourist
8 0 1

Hello, 

I am a beginner in the code on Shopify and not able to re-order filter tags on collection pages. I searched and followed these below solutions but not able to achieve it as I dont understand the code and where to edit it to meet my requirements. 

https://community.shopify.com/c/Technical-Q-A/Re-Ordering-tags-in-drop-down-filters/m-p/1026453#M442...
https://community.shopify.com/c/Shopify-Discussion/Product-tags-sort-order/td-p/19289

I understand its Alphabaitcal by default but I just want to reorder in a way that my Pre Order and In Store shows at the end of the list. Idea is to show these long names at the end after all other tags. 

Screen shots

Screen Shot 2021-01-18 at 4.33.03 PM.png Screen Shot 2021-01-18 at 6.35.42 PM.png

password: enter

Accepted Solution (1)

tim
Shopify Expert
3258 232 1178

This is an accepted solution.

One way to approach it is like this -- 

The code to output tag-based filter usually has a loop similar to:

{% for tag in collection.all_tags %}

You can change it like this:

{% assign order_tags = "XXS,XS,S,M,L,XL,XXL,In Store,Preorder" | split: "," %}
{% for tag in order_tags %}
  {% unless collection.all_tags contains tag %}
    {% continue %}
  {% endunless %}

Note that comparison is case-sensitive here and there is no spaces in the order_tags  variable. 

This way order of tags will be defined by their order in the order_tags variable. And tags which are not in this list will not be show at all.

View solution in original post

Replies 13 (13)

tim
Shopify Expert
3258 232 1178

This is an accepted solution.

One way to approach it is like this -- 

The code to output tag-based filter usually has a loop similar to:

You can change it like this:

{% continue %}
  {% endunless %}

Note that comparison is case-sensitive here and there is no spaces in the order_tags  variable.