Why is my Ella theme not working properly?

Why is my Ella theme not working properly?

HeidiB21
Tourist
3 0 1

Hi,

I'm having some issues with my Ella theme, everything was fine but now the below aren't working even though nothing has changed in the set up:
Hamburger menu

Slideshow on home page
shipping cart calculator in quick cart

Can't click on the images in the product pages 
deselected the colour compare tick box but it's still showing on product page
www.sablo.com.au

 

Any help would be great thanks!

Replies 4 (4)

Ollie
Shopify Staff
2497 456 416

Hey @HeidiB21.
 
Thanks for reaching out. 
 
When I attempted to navigate to the online store URL that you have mentioned, I received an error message: This site can’t be reached. Just to gather some additional context, did you happen to purchase this domain from the Shopify platform, or is this a third-party domain that you have connected with your store? 
 
The reason that I am asking is this will determine the next steps to ensure the domain is properly pointed and connected to your online store so we can take a further look at the issue you are experiencing. 
 
Looking forward to your response

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

HeidiB21
Tourist
3 0 1

Hi Ollie,

 

sorry! The website is www.sabulo.com.au I made a typo before.

 

Thanks,

 

Heidi

Ollie
Shopify Staff
2497 456 416

Hey @HeidiB21.

Thanks for the quick response and providing your online store URL. 
 
Are you still experiencing this issue on the online store? The reason I am asking is because when I navigated to the online store, I did not run into any issues with the following:
 

  • Header navigation menu
  • Slideshow on the homepage
  • Shipping calculator on cart page

 
With that being said, I was unable to locate the option to compare colors on the product pages as listed in your original message.
 
If you are still experiencing issues with these options, I would suggest clearing the cache from your browser and try the actions again. In some cases, clearing the cache from your browser can fix minor issues that you may experience with the Shopify platform. If the issue persists, you can try to use a separate browser. For example, if you are using Safari - try this action on Google Chrome
 
Let me if that does the trick and if you have any questions.

Ollie | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

HeidiB21
Tourist
3 0 1
Thanks so much Ollie! Yes it was sorted, I’d put. $ in a box I shouldn’t have! Thanks for looking into it!